a little happiness

1_1280x1024-1

A few years ago, I was given a lot of fresh Myoga ( Japanese ginger ) by an old lady in the neighborhood. On weekends  I usually eat Udon (a traditional Japanese noodle soup) I cook with Dashi (Japanese soup stock made from fish and kelp) for lunch. I use dried Udon, and to mix two kinds of soup with the Dashi and put vinegar into it makes a secret ingredient. Udon with a lot of ginger in it was really delicious. Many ginger plants grew naturally in the old lady’s garden next door and I asked for nursery plants of ginger. When a new bud came out of the ginger I planted, I was very happy. So I made it a rule to water it as soon as I came home.

  • a few  2・3の
  • neighborhood 近所
  • soup stock だし
  • kelp 昆布
  • mix  混ぜる
  • vinegar 酢
  • secret ingredient 隠し味
  • delicious 美味しい
  • next door 隣の
  • ask for A Aをくれと頼む
  • nursery plant 苗
  • bud 芽
  • make it a rule to~ 〜するようにしている
  • water 水を与える
  • as soon as S+V SがVしたらすぐに

One day, when I came home, I  caught a big crow, which I guessed had watched me watering the plants,  flying away with some gingers in its mouth. Rushing to the place where I planted the ginger, it was ruined. Deeply regretting, I walked in the direction that the crow flied away, when I found on the road a new bud of ginger with roots. I tried planting it in another place not expecting anything. But it has grown up well  and now there are two places that gingers grow naturally in my garden. This year they’ve grown up without trouble to be about 20 centimeters tall. When I was watering them happily after coming home, my wife came up to me and said “You look very happy, don’t you?  Your happiness seem to be got cheaply, huh?” and went away with a big smile on her face.

  • one day ある日
  • catch A ~ing Aが〜しているところを見つける
  • crow カラス
  • guess 推量する
  • fly away 飛び去る
  • rush to A Aに急いで行く
  • ruin 台無しにする
  • regret 後悔した
  • direction 方向
  • root 根
  • without trouble 無事に
  • wife 妻
  • seem to~ 〜するように思われる
  • smile 微笑み

Hearing her say so, it occurred to me that there might be two kinds of happiness.  One is the  happiness you feel when you achieve your big goal after a long and hard effort and the other is that you do when you find something of a little happiness. Both of them are happiness, but I wondered if there is a big difference between the two after doing something. Well, I’m happy to have a wife who never despises a little happiness. Oops, we’ve got a little bit too old, haven’t we? I‘m sure you also have a lot of little happiness. Are you aware of them?

  • hear A ~ Aが〜するのを聞く
  • occur to A Aの頭に思い浮かぶ
  • achieve 達成する
  • effort 努力
  • something of a A ちょっとしたA
  • wonder if S+V SはVするのかしらと思う
  • difference 違い
  • despise 軽蔑する
  • oops おっと
  • get old 年を取る
  • I’m sure きっと
  • be aware of A Aに気がついている

I・KA・SHI・TE・I・TA・DA・I・TE

A・RI・GA・TO・U・GO・ZA・I・MA・SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

