Mystery man in Showa era ―part 3

1_1280x1024

After I heard all the favor of Mrs.T, I asked her to let me see Mr.S’s photo. I saw in the picture an elderly short man in a suit whose face was good-natured. What I saw spiritually in my head was a spiritual being from south-eastern Asia. It belonged to the Middle World of the the Dead existing between the World of the Dead and the World of Reality. Being in the world closest to the World of Reality, spirits from the Middle World of the Dead are extremely powerful in causing strange phenomena.

  • favor 頼み事
  • ask A to~ Aに〜するよう頼む
  • let A ~ Aに〜させる
  • elderly 初老の
  • short 小柄な
  • good-natured 好々爺とした
  • south-eastern Asia 東南アジア
  • exist 存在する
  • between A and B AとBの間に
  • extremely 極めて
  • powerful 強力な
  • cause 引き起こす
  • strange 奇妙な
  • phenomena 現象

A phenomenon  which made Mrs.T believe in Mr.T was that the stone in question, which was a lump as large as a thumb,  appeared under the skin of a woman’s arm and moved there with all the participants watching it. When she touched it, it was exactly a stone. And it disappeared as soon as Mr.S stroked the surface of the arm. Though Mrs.T begged me to meet him, since I felt something wicked wriggling very actively behind him on seeing his picture, I hesitated to say yes thinking whether to meet him. When I left the decision to a sacred judge in front of my home shrine, a sacred direction that I should see him descended so I made up my mind to meet him. At a later date, I met him at a certain restaurant in Kobe before noon.

  • phenomenon 現象
  • make A ~  Aを〜させる
  • believe in A Aを深く信じる
  • in question 問題の
  • lump 塊
  • thumb 親指
  • appear 現れる
  • skin 皮膚
  • participant 参加者
  • touch 触る
  • disappear 消える
  • as soon as S+V SがVするや否や
  • stroke 撫でる
  • surface 表面
  • beg A to~ Aに〜するよう懇願する
  • wicked 邪悪な
  • wriggle 蠢く
  • hesitate ためらう
  • whether to~ 〜するべきかどうか
  • leave A to B AをBに任せる
  • decision 決定
  • sacred 神の
  • judge 判断
  • home shrine 神棚
  • direction 指示
  • descend 降りる
  • make up one’s mind to~ 〜する決心をする
  • certain ある
  • noon 正午

Five people, that is, Mr.T, Mrs.T, Mr.A, who was a representative of the supporting group of Mr.S, my mother, who was a friend of Mrs.T’s, and I met up for lunch.

  • representative 代表
  • supporting group 後援会
  • meet up 会う

No sooner had I greeted him and sat down across the table than Mr.S fell over the table. Mr.A ,sitting next to him, was surprised and raised him, and then Mr.S’ face tuned red and had pimples all over it.  We all were shocked and offered to call off the lunch. But Mr.S said he was OK and after that he had only soup and coffee. Having French lunch, we enjoyed ourselves about miracle stories by Mr.S and my spiritual experiences.

  • No sooner had S pp than S+V 〜するや否やSはVした
  • greet 挨拶する
  • fall  倒れる
  • raise  起こす
  • turn red 赤くなる
  • pimple ブツブツ
  • offer 申し出る
  • call off A Aを中止する
  • enjoy oneself 楽しむ
  • miracle 奇跡
  • experience 経験

After a while, Mr.S recovered and  in response to the request from those present that he show them the mineralization of a spirit, he concentrated in a private room in the restaurant. He, however, had difficulty making the stone appear and failed to,  saying it was easy to do usually. I also was expecting to see it waiting.  After a long period of time, the center of the table cloth on the table rose. We put away plates and small things on the table right away and took off the table cloth to find a dark red stone about the size of 3cm. It was not a trick. I was surprised. And we parted from each other promising that we should meet again.

  • after a while しばらくすると
  • recover 回復する
  • in response to A Aに応じて
  • request 要求
  • those present 出席者
  • mineralization 石化
  • concentrate 集中する
  • private room 個室
  • however しかしながら
  • have difficulty ~ing 〜するのに苦労する
  • make A ~ Aを〜させる
  • fail to~ 〜することができない
  • usually たいていは
  • expect to~ 〜することを期待する
  • after a long period of time だいぶ経った後で
  • center 中心
  • rise 上がる
  • put away A Aを片付ける
  • plate 皿
  • take off A  Aを取る
  • trick トリック
  • say good bye 別れを言う
  • part from A Aと別れる
  • each other お互い
  • promise 約束

Two months later, I got a call from Mrs.T.  According to her, after the meeting in Kobe, Mr.S had not been capable of causing the existence of the stone any more and she has not been able to get in touch with him ever since and Mr.A has been looking for him. To be sure, a red dark lizard I saw behind him using clairvoyance before meeting him had already disappeared at the time.

  • call 電話
  • according to A Aによると
  • be capable of ~ing 〜することができる
  • existence 存在
  • not … any more もう〜ない
  • get in touch with A Aと連絡を取る
  • ever since それ以来ずっと
  • look for A Aを探す
  • to be sure 確かに
  • lizard トカゲ
  • clairvoyance 霊視
  • already すでに

For this happening, my mother called me ‘psychic crusher.’ But I thought  ‘psychic buster’ was cool.

  • happening 出来事
  • call A B AをBと呼ぶ
  • psychic 霊能者
  • crusher 潰し
  • cool かっこいい

Today too,

I・KA・SHI・TE・I・TA・DA・I・TE

A・RI・GA・TO・U・GO・ZA・I・MA・SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

