the sun god and “nen pa kannon riki”

?????????????

I had a strong spirit of inquiry especially when I was around twenty and the number of my KenzokuShin(眷属神), or protective sacred spirits or gods, was largest. I once read Lotus Sutra(法華経)at the time when I was spiritually sensitive. Of Lotus Sutra, part of Kannon Sutra’s words seemed to glitter spiritually. Then, after reading several times, I found that the essence lied in the word Nen ‘pi’ kannon riki(念「彼」観音力). Chanting it a few times, I felt something was missing to make it more practical.

  • spirit of inqury 探究心
  • especially 特に
  • number 数
  • protective 保護的な
  • sacred 聖なる
  • sensitive 敏感な
  • seem to~  〜するように思われる
  • glitter 輝く
  • several times 数回
  • essence エッセンス
  • lie in A Aの中にある
  • chant 唱える
  • missing 足りない
  • practical 実践的な

One early morning, repeating ” A Ma Te Ra Su O Ho Mi Ka Mi”(天照太御神)toward the sun, the word “Namu kanzen on bosatsu Nen ‘pa’ kannon riki”(南無観世音菩薩 念 「波」観音力) came to my mind and saw the sun disk with my clairvoyance. The word “彼” in the traditional Buddhist scriptures changed into “波”. I felt a tragedy that the original pronunciation was changed in the course of translations into a number of languages and the long ages.

  • come to one’s mind 心に思い浮かぶ
  • the sun disk 日輪
  • clairvoyance 霊視
  • Buddhist 仏教の
  • scripture 経典
  • tragedy 悲劇
  • original 元々の
  • pronunciation 発音
  • in the course of A Aの過程の中で
  • translation 翻訳
  • a number of A  数多くのA
  • age 時代

The color and shape of the sun disk was the same as I see every time I visit Izayanomiya(伊雑宮). I knew intuitively that holy power of the Eleven-faced Kannon Bosatsu(十一面観世音菩薩), which is an avatar of the Sun God, is concentrated in the short sentence of “Namu kanzen on bosatsu Nen ‘pa’ kannon riki.” If you chant these words, you can get power out of you, whose power belongs to the spiritual being who swore long long time ago to help at any cost those who called the name of Kannon when in trouble.” If you can believe in it like a child, it really works.

  • shape 形
  • the same 同じ
  • every time S+V SがVする度に
  • intuitively 直感的に
  • holy 神の
  • avatar 化身
  • concentrate 集中させる
  • sentence 文
  • belong to A Aのものである
  • swear 誓う
  • at any cost  どんな犠牲を払ってでも
  • those who~ 〜する人々
  • in trouble 困った
  • believe in A Aを深く信じる
  • work 効果がある

The other day, I was clipping hedges in a park with my neighbors during the day. The hedges were 20 meters wide and so high that I clipped them with a stepladder, using motor-driven clipping machine. This machine was so heavy that I got sweaty all over my body. Though I clipped hedges drinking water, I  came to feel dizzy gradually. It was cloudy at first, but the sunshine grew stronger and stronger. Though I wanted to take a rest,  I hesitated to with the others working around me. When I began to feel “Oh, this is bad”, I repeated in my mind “Namu kanzen on bosatsu Nen pa kannon riki.” I was saved. I regained energy in a twinkle. A beer I drank at dinner on the day was really tasty.

  • the other day 先日
  • clip 刈る
  • hedge 生け垣
  • neighbor 隣人
  • during the day 日中に
  • so~ that S+V とても〜なのでSはVする
  • stepladdar 脚立
  • motor-driven 電動の
  • machine 機械
  • get sweaty 汗だくになる
  • all over A A中が
  • come to~ 〜するようになる
  • feel dizzy 目眩がする
  • gradually だんだんと
  • at first 最初は
  • grow 〜になる
  • take a rest 一休みする
  • hesitate ためらう
  • save 救う
  • regain 取り戻す
  • in a twinkle あっという間に
  • tasty 美味しい

I・KA・SHI・TE・I・TA・DA・I・TE

A・RI・GA・TO・U・GO・ZA・I・MA・SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

