How to treat memorial tablet by tanzaku

IMG_0159

You can throw away a Tanzaku on which you wrote wrong. I have used my Tanzaku for more than 25 years, so it has turned a little bit brown being smoked. I’m thinking it’s about time I exchanged it for a new one since my handwriting must also have changed.

  • throw away A Aを捨てる
  • turn~ 〜に変わる
  • smoke 燻す
  • handwriting 筆跡

If I’ve replace it, I’m going to burn the old one or wrap it in a paper and return it to a shrine or just throw it away on a rubbish collection day.

  • replace 取り替える
  • burn 燃やす
  • wrap 包む
  • return 返す
  • rubbish collection day ゴミの日

Your ancestral spirits come to the Tanzaku only when you offer Senko toward the Tanzaku, so don’t worry about it thinking your ancestors might stay there all the time.

  • ancestral  先祖の
  • offer 捧げる
  • worry 心配する
  • all the time ずっと

It is important that a Tanzaku is made from paper. Paper is made by tree fibers being melted. It has long been said that sacred spirits come to barks of a tree. They come over to a bark and dwell in it temporarily. I have Himorogi, an object where spirits come and stay, made from a bark of a hemp plant on my household Shinto shrine. When I recite Norito(祝詞), a Shinto prayer, in front of the altar, the Himorogi often vibrates.

  • be made from A  Aから出来ている
  • fiber 繊維
  • melt 溶かす
  • sacred 聖なる
  • bark 皮
  • dwell 宿る
  • temporarily 一時的に
  • object 物
  • hemp plant 麻
  • recite 捧げる
  • prayer 祈りの言葉
  • altar 祭壇
  • vibrate 揺れる

Therefore, in order for spirits to come and stay at Tanzaku temporarily, you must not wrap it in cellophane.

  • therefore 従って
  • in order for A to~  Aが〜するために
  • must not~ 〜してはいけない
  • cellophane ラップ

I・KA・SHI・TE・I・TA・DA・I・TE

A・RI・GA・TO・U・GO・ZA・I・MA・SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

