Questions and Answers (2)-(3)

114

Question 2:

I have a question. You once said that Kotodama(言霊),a spirit dwelling in words, of “I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su” begining with “I” and ending with “Su”, can keep unhappiness away and make happiness last. I know the word “Su” means “sujin(崇神)”, to worship God, or “suberu(統べる)”, to rule. But what kind of meaning does the word”I” have? I feel it means something, but actually I have no idea.

  • dwell 住む
  • keep A away Aを遠ざけておく
  • last 持続する
  • mean 意味する
  • worship 崇拝する
  • rule 支配する

Answer:

The word “I” means “inoichiban (いの一番)”, or “beginning” or “start”. We, imperfect beings, start to climb the mountain and reach “Su”, or the Original God. The nine words of “I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te(生かして頂いて)” means Kunitokotachiohkami(国常立太神) , the nine-dimentional god that rules life and death of all creatures. The ten words of “A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su(ありがとう御座位ます)”means Amaterasuohomikami(天照太御神), the ten-dimentional god that produce all creatures and raise them.

  • imperfect 不完全な
  • being 存在
  • climb 登る
  • reach 達する
  • -dimentional 次元の
  • life and death 生死
  • creature 生物
  • produce 生む
  • raise 育てる

To chant “I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su“, is to devote gratitude to the two gods that govern the most important things in the World of Reality-life and death and prosperity. This is the utmost and best prayer.

  • chant 唱える
  • devote 捧げる
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • govern 支配する
  • prosperity 繁栄
  • utmost 最高度の
  • prayer 祝詞

Question 3:

The other day, I got Ofuda(お札), a kind of charm made of paper which is available at a shrine, at the Grand Shrine of Ise. Though I brought myself to set it in the household shinto altar for worship after due consideration, I’m not sure if an amateur like me may start to do it. Is it better to ask a shinto priest to come home and have him hold a purification ceremony first? At present, I have left the two Ofuda I got at Naiku(内宮)and Geku(外宮)of the Grand Shrine of Ise in my household altar without offering Sakaki(榊),species of evergreen, nor water and I don’t do anything about it. What should I do?

  • the other day 先日
  • charm お守り
  • available 入手可能な
  • bring oneself to~ なんとか〜する気になる
  • household altar 神棚
  • after due consideration 悩んだ末に
  • amteur 素人
  • It is better to~ 〜した方がよい
  • ask A to~ Aに〜するよう頼む
  • priest 聖職者
  • purification ceremony お祓いの儀式
  • at present 現在は
  • offer 供える
  • species 種
  • evergreen 常緑樹

Answer:

There is one to one relation between God and you.You must not put someone else between the two. You should do it by yourself. When you visit a shrine on your own, get Ofuda there and bring it back with you to your house, a spiritual line is connected between the shrine and your house. If you don’t put it in the household altar and leave it as it is doing nothing, the line is broken.

  • one to one 1対1の
  • relation 関係
  • must not~ 〜してはいけない
  • someone else 他の人
  • by oneself 一人で
  • bring A back to B AをBに持ち帰る
  • connect 繋げる
  • leave it as it is そのままにしておく
  • break 切れる

If you obtain Ohuda thankfully, at least you should offer Sakaki and water within a week. Also,if someone else other than family members touches Ohuda, the spiritual line is broken, so it is important to do it on your own. You don’t need any special prayer or spell at all.

  • obtain 手に入れる
  • thankfully ありがたく
  • at least 少なくとも
  • other than A A以外の
  • on one’s own  自分自身で
  • special 特殊な
  • spell 呪文
  • not~at all 全く〜ない

Please put Ofuda you got at Geku into the left side of your household altar, one you got at Naiku and Izawanomiya(伊雑宮) into the center and one you got at the nearest shrine to your house into the right side. If you do this with gratitude and sincerity, it is OK.

  • sincerity 誠意
Leave a Reply

