To Take a bath or not is a matter of life and death

IMG_0163

I cannot get to sleep unless I take a bath or a shower every day. Once I go out, I cannot sleep without taking a bath. Though I have a cold and a fever about once a year, I take a bath without fail wheezing out.

  • get to sleep 寝付く
  • unless S+V SがVしない限り
  • take a bath 風呂に入る
  • once S+V いったんSがVすると
  • though S+V SはVするけれども
  • have a cold 風邪をひく
  • have a fever 熱が出る
  • without fail 必ず
  • wheeze out ゼイゼイ言う

My wife laughs at me watching my such behavior. In the early days when we just got married, she tried seriously to stop me from taking a bath when I had a fever, but now she’s given up doing so and is just laughing.

  • wife 妻
  • laugh at A Aを笑う
  • behavior 振る舞い
  • get married 結婚する
  • try to~ 〜しようとする
  • seriously 真剣に
  • stop A from ~ing Aが〜するのを止める
  • give up ~ing 〜するのを諦める

Not taking a bath is disgusting, which is worth a death sentence to me. I cannot help it, for I cannot get to sleep without doing it. Taking a bath is purifying spiritual defilement. Once getting out of the barrier of my house, I feel some spiritual dirt attaches to my hair. Not taking a bath makes me feel uncomfortable even if I drive away some spiritual beings trying to interfering with me and keep them away from me. To take a shower has the same effect as a waterfall and is a pleasant thing.

  • disgusting 実に嫌な
  • be worth A A に値する
  • death sentence 死刑宣告
  • ,for S+V というのもSはVするからです
  • puryfy 祓う
  • defilement 穢れ
  • barrier 結界
  • dirt 汚れ
  • attach to A Aにくっつく
  • uncomfortable 不快な
  • even if S+V たとえSがVするとしても
  • drive away A Aを追い払う
  • spiritual being 霊的存在
  • interfere with A Aに干渉する
  • keep A away from B AをBから遠ざけておく
  • the same  同じ
  • effect 効果
  • waterfall 滝
  • pleasant 気持ちのいい

My wife used to take a bath every other day during winter before she got married to me, but now she has come to take a bath every day as I do even when she has a cold.

  • used to~ 以前は〜したものだ
  • every other day 一日おきに
  • come to~ 〜するようになる
  • as S+V SがVするように

When I imagine people in the disaster-stricken area couldn’t take a bath, I feel sorry for them as if it was my own. I really appreciate being able to take a bath today as usual. There are many more things we have taken for granted, aren’t there?

  • imagine 想像する
  • disaster-stricken area 被災地
  • feel sorry for A Aを可哀想に思う
  • as if it was my own 自分のことのように
  • appreciate 有り難く思う
  • as usual
  • take A for granted Aを当たり前と思う

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

2 thoughts on “To Take a bath or not is a matter of life and death

    • Ise Grand Shrine, of course. You should visit it because it is the greatest of all the Shinto shrines. It’s in Mie prefecture in Japan. Just 4 hours or so from Tokyo. Moses brought the Tablets and buried them under the ground of a site of Ise Grand Shrine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

