a memory of my youth – Part 2

IMG_0163

When I looked into the apartment with its door opened, passing the front, I met the eyes of a man at the entrance hall. I walked past about 5 meters, but somehow my attention was caught by the man. I went back to the front of the apartment wondering if I should ask him where the religious group’s apartment was, to find the man whose eyes I met just now standing at the entrance hall.

  • look into A Aを覗き込む
  • meet the eyes 目が合う
  • entrance hall 玄関
  • somehow どういうわけか
  • attention 注意
  • wonder if S+V SはVするのかしらと思う
  • religious group 宗教団体

No sooner had I said “Well,…” than he told me to come in.  I thought he mistook me for someone else. When I said “Do you know where …” he answered instantly ” This is the place.” I was taken to a room with a look of surprise. Looking around the room, while he was preparing some tea for me, I found another room with a large household Shinto altar in it. We were alone in the room. We sat face to face over a cup of tea.

  • No sooner had S pp than S’+V’ Sが〜するやいなやS’はV’した
  • tell A to~ Aに〜するよう言う
  • mistake A for B AをBと間違える
  • instantly 即座に
  • a look of surprise 驚きの表情
  • household Shinto altar 神棚
  • face to face 面と向かって

Mr. A : You’ve come here all the way from afar, haven’t you?

I: Yes. (He doesn’t seem to mistake me for someone else. It seems like he was waiting for me.) Did you know that I would come here today?

Mr.A : Yes I did. I have seen spiritually a lot of spiritual beings I have never seen before everyday since a week ago. I tried to expel them in vain. What they said to me was the same. All they said was “A heaven-sent child of ours is coming to you.” I felt this morning a gangling man would come over today, so I kept the door opened.

This is how we met.

  • all the way はるばる
  • from afar 遠くから
  • seem to~ 〜するように思われる
  • spiritually 霊的に
  • expel 追い払う
  • in vain 無駄に
  • heaven-sent child 天子
  • gangling 背のヒョロ高い
  • This is how S+V このようにしてSはVする

When I was a college student, I was in charge of a station wagon for eight people, so I could use it anytime I wanted. I got a chance to visit shrines or go out for dinner in the car once a month together with Mr. A and his friends such as other leaders of Osaka area of another big religious group, a guru of some organization in the line of Shinto, a famous author who wrote religious books and so on, without their followers.

  • be in charge of A Aを預かっている
  • chance to ~ 〜する機会
  • in the line of A A系統の
  • follower 信者

When we enjoyed talking, drinking alcohol, we talked a lot about inside stories of religious circles, episodes of other gurus, and hidden Shinto rituals. We did this for about two years, but I left them when I started a job. During that time, Mr.A never told me about the figures or features of the spiritual beings he saw before he met me. Well, this is one of my good memories of Showa era.

  • inside story 裏話
  • hidden 隠された
  • ritual 儀式
  • era 時代

Now that the World of the Dead is ceasing to exist and reorganization of each dimensions is beginning, the spiritual beings connected tome are also merging into the Original God and its number is dropping sharply, according to the level of manifestation of my inner god. I aim to lead a Kannagara(カンナガラ) life without anything weird, that is, to live with God.

  • now that S+V 今やSはVするので
  • cease to exist 消滅する
  • reorganization 再編成
  • dimension 次元
  • merge into A Aに融合する
  • the Original God 根源神
  • according to A Aに応じて
  • manifestation 発露
  • aim to~ 〜することを目標にする
  • weird 奇異の
  • that is つまり

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

