FAQ 13

Question:

When I begin to hold a memorial service for my ancestors, my pet dog I’ve kept inside the house comes running wagging its tail. Is it OK my dog being beside me? The other day, I heard from a friend of mine that animals are not  allowed to enter Shrine precincts, so I’m worried a little about it. I wonder how the other readers of this blog who keep their pet animals deal with this problem. Should I keep my pet dog from coming into the room while I’m holding the service?

  • memorial service 供養
  • ancestor 先祖
  • wag 振る
  • tail 尻尾
  • the other day 先日
  • be allowed to~ 〜するのを許されている
  • enter 入る
  • precinct 敷地
  • deal with A Aを扱う
  • keep A from ~ing Aが〜させないでおく

Answer:

It’s no problem that your pet dog is beside you when you hold a memorial service in your house. As for a shrine, since there is a Kenzokushin(眷属神, a subordinate god running errands for its superordinate god) in a shrine where a true holy spirit exists, you must not let your pet animals defecate in the precincts. I sometimes see a pet owner letting his pet dog do so. I’m sure the owner’ fortune and health will be damaged. Kenzokushin is an unsparing spirit in a way and it is an inflexible and relentless being.

  • as for A Aに関して言えば
  • suboridinate 下位の
  • run errand 使い走りをする
  • superordinate 上位の
  • holy spirit 神霊
  • exist 存在する
  • must not~ 〜してはいけない
  • let A ~ Aに〜させる
  • defecate 糞をする
  • I’m sure… きっと…だろう
  • unsparing 容赦のない
  • in a way ある意味で
  • inflexible 融通が利かない
  • relentless 情け容赦のない
  • being 存在
Leave a Reply

