FAQ 14

Question:

I started holding a memorial service for my ancestors the other day. I’ve got a question. I’ve offered a flower I took in my garden to a grave or a Buddhist altar. I have never had any bad effects so far, but should I stop doing this?

  • memorial service 供養
  • ancestor 先祖
  • the other day 先日
  • grave 墓
  • Buddhist altar 仏壇
  • effect 結果
  • so far 今のところ

Answer:

There is no big problem about that. But when you offer something to God or the spirits of your ancestors, you should buy it no matter how little it costs. Because your action of having trouble to buy something for your ancestors itself is a kind of memorial service for them. It is OK if you take out some flowers in your garden with all your heart. A secret of a memorial service lies in the heart of trying to offer something without saving time and energy. It is this thoughtfulness that is understood by ancestors. So, if you buy something reluctantly, you had better not offer it no matter how expensive.

  • have trouble to~ わざわざ〜する
  • with all one’s heart 心を込めて
  • lie in A Aにある
  • save 省く
  • thoughtfulness 思い遣り
  • reluctantly いやいや
  • expensive
Leave a Reply

