FAQ 24

Question:

I’ve been plagued by my daughter for a long time. I wanted to get out of my house, wished I could die, and almost had my family break down. Today, she emailed me saying ” I think I’m obsessed by some evil spirit, so I’ll have myself exorcised.” I replied that she must not do such thing at a questionable place and buy anything spiritual. But, is it better to have her exorcised of evil spirits as she wishes? In that case, where should we go? I live in Kanto region but we could visit Ise Grand Shrine if we need to.

  • plague 悩ます
  • break down 崩壊する
  • be obsessed 憑かれている
  • evil spirit 悪霊
  • exorcise お祓いをする
  • reply 返事をする
  • must not~ ~してはいけない
  • questionable 怪しい
  • region 地方

Answer:

Basically, you can do it at the most important provincial shrine. But it is nothing more than diverting her temporally. Misfortune and obsession have much to do with the state of s spiritual line of a family lineage. To hold a memorial service for your ancestors with gratitude using three incense sticks and as a result of it to make their protection stronger would improve spiritual problems. In your daughter’s case, however, it is not a spiritual problem but the one which her selfishness causes.

  • basically 基本的には
  • provincial  地域の
  • shrine 神社
  • nothing more than A Aに過ぎない
  • divert  気をそらす
  • temporally 一時的に
  • misfortune 不運
  • have much to do with A Aと大いに関係がある
  • state 状態
  • family lineage  家系
  • ancestor 先祖
  • incense stick 線香
  • protection 守護
  • improve 改善する
  • selfishness わがまま 

A purification rite taking place at Geku(外宮)of Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮)where shrine maidens dance is really good. It’s worth visiting in order to feel Japanese culture as well.

  • rite 儀式
  • take place 行なわれる
  • shrine maiden  巫女
  • worth ~ing 〜する価値がある
  • in order to~ 〜するために
  • as well 〜もまた
Leave a Reply

