FAQ 32

Question:

I love making a bonfire in my garden. When I’ve done with it, I feel refreshed. Is there some meaning of purification in making a bonfire? I don’t know why, but bonfire makes me feel better.

  • bonfire 焚き火
  • feel refreshed すっきりする
  • meaning 意味
  • purification 浄化

Answer:

It has a spiritual purifying effect. Fire is important in esoteric Buddhism, too. Zoroastrianism, which is regarded as the origin of all the Western religions, is called a fire-worshiped religion. As I myself had to do with a religion in which fire was worshiped god in a former life, seeing a bonfire never makes me bored so much that I forget the passage of time. To concentrate on fire would soothe irritation and purify a superficial spiritual stain.

  • purifying effect 浄化作用
  • esoteric Buddhism 密教
  • Zoroastrianism ゾロアスター教
  • regard A as B AをBと見なす
  • origin 起源
  • religion 宗教
  • fire-worshiped religion 拝火教
  • have to do with A Aと関係がある
  • former life 前世
  • get bored 飽きる
  • passage 経過
  • concentrate 集中する
  • soothe なだめる
  • irritation イライラ
  • superficial  表面的な
  • stain 穢れ
Leave a Reply

