FAQ 40

Question:

I make a living as an astrologer, with my body not in good condition. The company I work for places me on the market as a psychic astrologer. But to be honest, I’m not a psychic at all. All I have is a vision which occurs to me and a flash of inspiration. I’m doing my business to my clients happy treasuring every meeting, and I try to make them realize their good points and not to make them depend on astrology. I have read about astrology in your blog many times. Though I’m still doing this business for money, I have begun to feel guilty recently. I, serious in character, have been in pain whether I should go on this job or not, thinking I might be playing a psychic.

  • make a living 生計を立てる
  • astrologer 占い師
  • market 市場
  • to be honest 正直に言うと
  • occur to A Aの頭に思い浮かぶ
  • flash ひらめき
  • treasure 大事にする
  • guilty 罪悪感
  • serious 真面目な
  • play a psychic 霊能者ごっこをする

At first I began to work here part time as a side business, but one day I was seized with a serious illness and entered the hospital. And because of this I was not able to continue my regular business, and I had to earn a living as an astrologer. I have once believed this job to be my calling, shamefully enough. In my case, nothing occurs to me unless I think I wanna make people happy. So I’ve been doing this business with compassion in my mind. Do you think I’ve been troubled because my inner god tells me to quit this job?

  • at first 最初は
  • side business 副業
  • illness 病気
  • calling 天職
  • shamefully enough お恥ずかしいことに
  • unless S+V SがVしない限り
  • compassion 思い遣り
  • troubled 悩んでいる
  • quit 辞める

Answer:

You’re analyzing yourself correctly and realizing your present situations. As long as you work against your conscience, such anxiety will never disappear. While you have a feeling of wrongness according to your conscience, or an inner god, you won’t lead your clients in the wrong direction. So search for another job while you work as an astrologer for the time being.

  • analyze 分析する
  • correctly 正しく
  • realize 認識している
  • present situations 現状
  • as long as S+V SがVする限り
  • conscience 良心
  • anxiety 不安
  • a feeling of wrongness 違和感
  • direction 方向
  • search for A Aを探す
  • for the time being さしあたりは

Should you feel any guilty about the job out of conscience, it means your inner god has hidden itself. To earn money as a psychic or an astrologer is to live selling your soul to demons, in which case you soul is to be dragged into the World of Demons after you die. If you live a short life easily doing a cushy job in this world, a long pain awaits you in the the world to come. Why don’t you get some qualification before you lose your conscience?

  • hide oneself 隠れる
  • demon 鬼
  • drag 引き込む
  • cushy job 楽な仕事
  • await 待ち構える
  • Why don’t you~? 〜してはどうですか?
  • qualification 資格
Leave a Reply

