FAQ 51

Question:

It is often said that we shouldn’t eat meat. Do you agree that we had better not eat beef, pork, and chicken? I’m not so fond of meat, so since I heard that opinion, I have stopped eating meat except when I have to. Could you tell me the truth?

  • meat 肉
  • agree 同意する
  • had better not~ 〜しない方がよい
  • be fond of A Aが好きである
  • except A Aを除いて

Answer:

Trying to avoid an occasion where you have no choice but eat meat would spoil the mood and cause harm. In my case, I try not to eat beef as much as possible and choose pork depending on the situation.  I feel pork has an aspect of being prepared by God for human development . When you are served by a host a dish with meat in it,  it is rude to eat it avoiding only meat. What you eat has its karma,too. If you eat everything served to you with gratitude, there is no spiritual problems.When you eat meat, let’s eat it after you show your gratitude to the animal.

  • occasion 場合
  • have no choice but ~  〜せざるを得ない
  • spoil 台無しにする
  • cause harm 害がある
  • as much as possible 可能な限り
  • situation 状況
  • aspect 側面
  • rude 無礼な
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
Leave a Reply

