FAQ 13-14

Question 13.

Whenever I visit my sister’s house, we enjoy ourselves talking about this blog. She started to hold memorial services for the ancestral spirits of her husband’s family line and came to remind herself of gratitude, so that her relationship with her husband was deepen and they are getting along well with each other. She says she is very happy now.

  • whenever S+V SがVする時はいつでも
  • ancestral 先祖の
  • come to~ 〜するようになる
  • remind oneself of A Aを思い出す
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • relationship 人間関係
  • get along well with A Aとうまくやる

By the way, when we talk about this blog, something strange sometimes happens, like a plastic bottle starts to vibrate hard circling around or the picture frame of our deceased mother falls down abruptly. I paid no attention to those things because I thought such strange phenomena will stop sooner or later due to the practice of my holding memorial services and reminding myself of gratitude. But the other day, when we were talking about an article of this blog, a refrigerator behind me began to make a strange noise. It’s like sound from the inside of the refrigerator. My sister told me that the phenomenon occurred only when I was at her home. What kind of phenomenon do you think this is? I wondered if my ancestors wanted to say something. Did it happen because my thought energy was strong? Or my way of life has made them sad? I have no idea. Could you give me some advice?

  • by the way ところで
  • vibrate 揺れる
  • deceased 亡くなった
  • abruptly 突然
  • pay attention  注意を払う
  • phenomena 現象
  • due to A Aのために
  • the other day 先日
  • refrigerator 冷蔵庫
  • make a noise 音を立てる
  • have no idea まったくわからない

Answer.

As your ancestral spirits feel secured, those phenomena will stop. Seeing they happen when you and your sister are in the same place, I suppose that ancestral spirits who belong to her previous family line before marriage are trying to inform you two of their existence. In addition, the passion of you two when you’re talking about this blog is so strong as to produce doppelganger. What causes poltergeist-phenomena is mainly due to girls under fifteen, and the spiritual bodies of you two are also young and full of energy. In view of your constitution, you are likely to feel depressed as if you went down into a black hole once you begin to be troubled. So it is necessary that you keep yourself positive always thinking “Thank you so much for keeping us alive.” A person like you must not hate others. If you did, your doppelganger would beat the person you hate. So be careful.

  • feel secured 安心する
  • previous 前の
  • inform A of B AにBを知らせる
  • existence 存在
  • in addition 加えて
  • passion 情熱
  • so … as to~ 〜するくらい…
  • doppelganger 生霊
  • be due to A Aが原因である
  • be full of A Aでいっぱいである
  • constitution 体質
  •  be likely to~ 〜しそうである
  • feel depressed 落ち込む
  • once S+V いったんSがVすると
  • be troubled 悩む
  • necessary 必要な
  • positive 積極的な
  • must not~ 〜してはならない
  • hate 憎む
  • beat やっつける

Question 14.

I’m a third-generation Korean living in Japan. I live here in Japan using a Japanese name, but I also have a Korean real name.Though I don’t use the latter so often, I feel both of them are my true name. I wrote my Japanese name on the Tanzaku(短冊), a Japanese short strip of paper, used when I hold a memorial service for ancestors, but because the name began to be used by my grandfather three generations ago, the number of my ancestors of the name is very small. The number of my ancestors whose name is Korean is much larger. Which name should I write on the Tanzaku?

  • third-generation 三世の
  • the latter 後者
  • number 数

Answer.

If there is at least one deceased person whose name is a Japanese one, you can write the Japanese surname you’re now using on the Tanzaku. The third incense stick you offer during the memorial service takes care of the ancestral spirits whose surname is Korean. So the function of the third incense stick is very important. Conversely, you can write your real Korean surname on it like “The Place for the Spirits of So-and-so family.” In this case, the third incense stick can take care of the deceased whose surname is your Japanese one. Or you can change the name according to circumstances. It is ideal that you hold memorial services using your favorite surname.

  • at least 少なくとも
  • incense stick 線香
  • function 機能
  • conversely 逆に
  • according to circumstances 状況によって
  • ideal 理想的な
Leave a Reply

