FAQ 25-26

Question 25

My father is 85  now and sometimes talks about what he wants me to do like a will, since he knows himself the decline of his own physical strength. The other day he told me about what I should do after he dies, and he wants me to scatter part of his ashes in the Pacific Ocean and put the rest at the Buddhist temple strongly related to our family line. I understand his idea well that his physical body should be returned to the nature, so I think I want to make his wish come true as much as possible. In scattering the cremated remains, I have to reduce his bones to powder. I don’t want leave the bones to an agent, so I think I should do it myself. May I do this kind of thing? I mean, may I break my father’s bones? I don’t know what this means spiritually. I’d like to hear your opinion.

  • will 遺書
  • decline 衰え
  • strength 強さ
  • the other day 先日
  • scatter  撒く
  • ash 遺灰
  • the rest 残り
  • related 関係した
  • as~as possible 可能な限り〜
  • cremated 火葬した
  • reduce A to powder Aを粉にする
  • leave A to B AをBに任せる
  • opinion 意見

Answer

That’s what he wants, so it’s no problem for you to break his bones. Because of the cost of an expensive cemetery, scattering of ashes will increase in Japan, which, spiritually speaking, is no problem. As can be said from a point of view of Japanese myths as well, it is important for a dead body to disappear. Spiritually speaking, a memorial service held at home for the deceased is much more important than a grave. It seems that the reason he wants you to scatter his ashes to the Pacific Ocean has to do with his friends during the World War Ⅱ. It is a praiseworthy act for you to make his wish come true.

  • expensive 高価な
  • cemetary 墓
  • increase 増加する
  • myth 神話
  • the deceased 死者
  • grave 墓
  • have to do with A Aと関係がある
  • praiseworthy 称賛に値する

Question 26

The other day I heard from a relative for the first time that there was a relative in my family line who had killed himself. I have suffered from a cluster headache, which hurts more than a migraine headache, since last fall and I thought this headache has something to do with the relative who committed suicide. Is there some connection between my disease of unknown cause and ancestors or relatives who haven’t rested in peace? Also, does the right kind of memorial service improve diseases of a living person as well as the deceased ?

  • relative 親戚
  • kill oneself 自殺する
  • suffer from A Aに苦しむ
  • cluster headache 群発性頭痛
  • migraine headache 偏頭痛
  • disease 病気
  • unknown 未知の
  • cause 原因
  • improve 改善する

Answer

There seems to be a spiritual blockage in your family line, to be sure, but headaches are caused by not only spiritual blockage but also eating habits, a bad state of blood and effects of electromagnetic waves of the sun. It is important that you put a slight amount of sea salt into tepid water in a mug cup and drink it many times a day and eat a lot of vegetables to keep your blood vessels healthy. If you hold a memorial service with gratitude for your ancestors using three incense sticks, your physical health will improve as the result of the spiritual line of your family line being purified. It often happens that your disease is cured because of the memorial services for your ancestors, but you have to remember that the improvement of your health is a result of the memorial services for the sake of your ancestral spirits, not your sake. Keep in mind that if you hold the memorial service for the purpose of improving your diseases, your ancestral spirits cannot be purified.

  • blockage 詰まり
  • eating habits 食習慣
  • state 状態
  • electromagnetic wave 電磁波
  • slight わずかな
  • tepid ぬるい
  • blood vessel 血管
  • result 結果
  • purify 浄化する
  • for the sake of A  Aのため
  • keep A in mind Aを心に留めておく
Leave a Reply

