FAQ 27-28

Question 27

I’m a man in my early forties. Last weekend I went to hospital for a blood test because I had been suffering from headache for the past few months. I got the result today.Though my blood sugar level and all the other levels were normal, my kidney function was found to be extremely bad. I was told by my doctor that if I do nothing about it, I will need to undergo artificial dialysis. I had been careful of my health since I suffered kidney stones. So I was shocked at the result. I hear that the number of patients who suffer from kidney disease has been increasing these days. I’ve received a spiritual treatment before. Does this experience have anything to do with it? Also, do you think that holding memorial services for ancestors have some good influence on my health? In fact, it’s been four months since I started to hold the service but the result is this. Do I hold it in the wrong way?

  • suffer 苦しむ
  • headache 頭痛
  • blood sugar 血糖
  • kidney 腎臓
  • function 機能
  • extremely  極度に
  • undergo 受ける
  • artificial dialysis 透析
  • kidney stone 結石
  • patient 患者
  • increase 増加する
  • influence 影響

Answer

I have to tell you that the cause lies in your way of thinking reflecting in your words “the result is this.” Who do you hold the memorial service for? Do you do it for the sake of not your ancestors but you? Only when you hold it with gratitude to your ancestral spirits does the merciful deed for others return to you. Once born, all human beings, including Sakyamuni, cannot avoid aging, being sick, and dying. I myself take good care of my physical body as much as possible so as not to fall ill. Whether you become ill or not, it is important that you hold memorial services for your ancestors not associating your disease with the memorial service. It is only after you do it like this that there is a chance of your physical body being improved in many ways.

  • cause 原因
  • way of thinking 考え方
  • reflect 反映する
  • for the sake of A Aのために
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • merciful 慈悲の
  • deed 行い
  • including 含めて
  • so as not to~ 〜しないように
  • associate A with B AをBと結びつけて考える
  • chance 可能性
  • improve 改善する

Question 28

I heard that the little brother of my brother’s wife’s killed himself after he suffered from depression for a long time. I have never seen him before, but I cannot think of him as a total stranger and I feel sorry for him. What kind of memorial service should I do in this case? What words should I say in holding the service? It is said that those who committed suicide will writhe in agony in the other world too. What is the agony like?

  • depression 鬱
  • think of A as B AをBと考える
  • commit suicide 自殺する
  • writhe in agony もだえ苦しむ
  • the other world あの世

Answer

The soul of a person who committed suicide is fixed in the state of agony which is ten times stronger than that he feels just before he dies. His soul feels the pain and agony all the more directly because he loses his physical body. In addition to it, the soul continues to feel the pain of the moment of death multiplicatively,for the senses of a soul become much more sensitive with a physical body being lost. Such a soul is in hell literally because the consciousness of the soul freezes in agony. Also, committing suicide means killing Inner God given in trust by God; therefore the sin of suicide is really grave. To alleviate the pain, it’s best for those who are related to the deceased to offer gratitude to him/her every day. It is advisable to hold a memorial service with gratitude to the deceased with the words “Thank you so much for keeping us alive.” In the spirit world, being thanked by others is valued as the most honorable thing for a soul.

  • fix 固定する
  • physical body 肉体
  • directly 直接的に
  • multiplicatively 増幅して
  • sense 感覚
  • sensitive 敏感な
  • literally 文字通り
  • consciousness 意識
  • freeze フリーズする
  • Inner God 内在神
  • give A in trust Aを預ける
  • sin 罪
  • grave 重大な
  • alleviate 軽減する
  • honorable 栄誉な
Leave a Reply

