In the age to come, what we’re thinking appears on the face.

5_1280x1024

This morning, I remembered Mr.Horin Matsuhisa (松久朋琳,1901-1987), a famous sculptor of Buddhist statues living in Kyoto.

  • sculptor 彫刻家
  • Buddhist statue 仏像

When I was a student, I got the urge to see his workshop and his face on seeing a Buddhist image created by him. Where he lived was not made public, but I knew he lived in a certain district of Kyoto.

  • urge 衝動
  • workshop 工房
  • public 公の
  • district 地区

One early morning of a holiday, I remembered Mr. Matsuhisa suddenly. Feeling I could see him that day even just a little, I couldn’t sit still. Then I left home riding my motorbike with a map in hand. I succeeded in reaching his home without difficulty as my guardian deities guided me.

  • suddenly 突然
  • even just a little 少しだけでも
  • still じっと
  • succeed in~ing 〜するのに成功する
  • without difficulty たやすく
  • guardian deity 眷属神
  • guide 導く

The doors of his workshop all taken off , the place was opened to the public. Wondering if something happened, I stood in front of the workshop,when I found that an altar for funeral was set in the back and a picture of Mr.Matsuhisa was decorated. They were preparing for the vigil.

  • take off A Aを取り外す
  • the public 一般の人々
  • wonder if S+V SはVするのかしらと思う
  • altar 祭壇
  • funeral 葬式
  • decorate 飾る
  • prepare for A Aの準備をする
  • vigil 葬儀

He was smiling quietly in his picture. Seeing the picture, I thought I did meet him even just a little. The atmosphere around his house was filled with silent, bright dignity.

  • smile 微笑む
  • quietly 静かに
  • atmosphere 雰囲気
  • dignity 威厳

Then I felt that a funeral for a person who lived his life to his heart’s content and became one with Buddha is a bracing and positive one. I could perceive him saying like “That’s a load off my mind !” He was happy to take off his physical body like a heavy suit of armor.

  • funeral 葬式
  • to one’s heart’s content 思う存分
  • bracing 清々しい
  • perceive 知覚する
  • That’s a load off my mind. 楽になった
  • take off A   Aを脱ぐ
  • suit of armor 鎧

Mr.Matsuhisa once said, “Buddha is in everyone’s heart. I carve the Buddha out of wood to give it a figure and welcome him. And by welcoming him, the Buddha lives in the sculptor’s heart.” I think this means that he feels his Inner God and by making it a wooden image he can remember Buddha in his heart all the time.

  • carve 彫る
  • figure 姿
  • all the time いつも

It is important that we human beings work hard for a living in a mundane secular world. But overwhelmed with difficulties in life, we are apt to forget our God inside us. He recommended carving Buddha so as not to forget it. In Showa era, it would have been a good thing to do. But in the age to come when spiritual sunlight pours down on us, what we think appears on the face. So from now on, instead of carving an image of Buddha, we should “carve” our face by holding memorial services for our ancestors and reminding ourselves of gratitude.

  • for a living 生活のために
  • mundane   平凡な
  • sucular 世俗の
  • overwhelm 圧倒させる
  • be apt to~ 〜しがちである
  • so as not to~ 〜しないように
  • era 時代
  • pour down 降り注ぐ
  • appear 現れる
  • instead of~ing 〜する代わりに
  • memorial service 供養
  • ancestor 先祖
  • remind oneself of A Aを想起する
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I KA SHI TE I TA DA I TE    A RI GA TO U GO ZA I MA SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

amidashomen

Leave a Reply

