Gratitude annihilates anger or curses.

いざわのみや写真

I was driving thinking “Well, what am I supposed to write on the blog today?” as if it were another person’s problem. Contents of my blogs are something like what comes down from above, or wells up from my heart.

  • be supposed to~ 〜することになっている
  • as if S+V あたかもSがVするかのように
  • content 中身
  • well up 湧き上がる

If I could write articles for the next week in advance on my holiday, I could be relaxed at night on weekdays, but I can’t do it for the life of me. I tried to do it many times, but I couldn’t write them in advance at all. If I tried, I would be remain still looking at the keyboard and screen of my PC.

  • in advance 前もって
  • for the life of me どうしても
  • remain still じっとしたままである

I occasionally write an article receiving the readers’ present feelings unconsciously and projecting them on it. And what came to my mind today was “Daimajin.” Daimajin is the title of a Japanese movie made about 40 years ago and the main character’s name as well.

  • occasionally 時折
  • present 現在の
  • unconsciously 無意識に
  • project A on B AをBに反映させる
  • come to one’s mind 心に浮かぶ
  • main character 主人公

I remember seeing the movie rebroadcast on TV many times when I was a school boy. The content is a historical play, where people have been kept down in suffer by dishonest administrators. A stone Buddhist image enshrined on a mountain on the edge of the town is watching over all of these situations silently, whose face is like that of a clay image and who has a gentle expression on the face.

  • historical play 時代劇
  • dishonest  不正直な
  • administrator 大名
  • Buddhist image 仏像
  • enshrine   祭る
  • clay image 埴輪

And one day, it begins to move as if he had reached the limit of his patience. Then the living Buddhist image turns into huge, angry Daimajin and defeats the dishonest administrators. It’s like an extreme version of the drama called Mito-Komon. Looking back on it, I think the contents of this drama were very spiritual in terms of Shinto.

  • patience  我慢
  • turn into A Aに変わる
  • defeat 打ち負かす
  • extreme 極端な
  • in terms of A   Aの観点から

I feel that the director of this film felt the voice of anger and sadness of a deity hidden from the world without knowing it and he was made to make the movie. The true identity of Daimajin is Kunitokotachi-oh-kami as in Jizo-son.

  • director 監督
  • anger   怒り
  • sadness 悲しみ
  • be made to~  ~させられる
  • true identity 正体
  • as in A   Aの場合と同様に

Human beings have dispositions of anger and destruction. So do deities. The dispositions seem to be important elements for development and evolution of the Universe. Shiva of India and Susanoo of Japan are deities who have especially this disposition. Those who were born in the Japanese Archipelago have the divinity of Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami as their Inner God, whose disposition is “softness” and “tolerance.”

  • disposition 性質
  • destruction    破壊
  • element 要素
  • development 成長
  • evolution 進化
  • especially 特に
  • the Japanese Archipelago 日本列島
  • divinity 神性
  • tolerance 寛容

The soft prevails over the hard. The energy of anger is defeated by that of kindness. Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami (= the sun) can calm Kunitokotachi-oh-kami (= the earth), which suggests that the Japanese, who have Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami inside as their Inner God will play a key role for world peace.

  • prevail over A Aを制す
  • key role 重要な役割
  • world peace 世界平和

Especially gratitude can annihilate anger or curses. So it’s better to say “Thank you so much for keeping us alive” silently inside your mind toward an angry person.

  • annihilate 消滅させる
  • silently   黙って

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I KA SHI TE I TA DA I TE    A RI GA TO U GO ZA I MA SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

※ To read past articles of this blog, see the following website, a revised edition of this blog, whose article is supposed to be published almost everyday.

https://isehakusandoutheuniverse.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

