If you think you’re strong, you have to be careful about your health.

いざわのみや写真

I drove my business car today in a lot of snow. I had used a car which could change to four-wheel drive until last year but I can use a rear-wheel-drive vehicle now.

  • four-wheel-drive 四輪駆動
  • rear-wheel-drive 後輪駆動

It snowed a lot today, so I drove the car carefully because it was my first time I used it. It being rear-wheel-drive, I drove it very carefully thinking that it was easy to slip. I drove it keeping the speed not more than 40 kilometers an hour. Some four-wheel-drive cars and front-wheel-drive cars were passing mine.

  • slip 滑る
  • pass 通り越す

Remembering about last year, I found the road was the one where I had driven my four-wheel-drive car at the speed of 60 kilometers an hour. Four-wheel-drive vehicles are stable and difficult to slip. But once it exceeds a certain critical point, it can be out of control and you can’t stop it.

  • stable 安定した
  • exceed 越える
  • critical point 臨界点
  • out of control 制御不可能な

On snowy roads, unexpectedly, there are a lot of car accidents caused by four-wheel-drive cars. Because they can really move, terrible accidents can happen. I thought the easier to slip the car you drive is, the more careful you become when driving and more less likely you are to have accidents.

  • unexpectedly 意外なことに
  • terrible 酷い
  • be likely to~ 〜しそうである

I feel it holds true for your health, too. If you think your body is fragile, you won’t overwork yourself. You will try to get a good sleep or be careful about food you eat.

  • hold true 当てはまる
  • fragile か弱い
  • good sleep 十分な睡眠

If you were young, on the other hand, you would have confidence in your health and have fun all night or make do with junk food. But once you lose your health, it is very difficult to get it back. So people with long life might have been fragile when they were young.

  • on the other hand 一方
  • confidence 自信
  • make do with A Aで済ます
  • once S+V いったんSがVすると
  • might have pp 〜したかもしれない

It is when you’re in good condition that it’s important to remind yourself of gratitude and never to forget the fundamental truth that you’re being kept alive.

  • condition 状態
  • remind oneself of A Aを思い出す
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • fundamental 根本的な
  • keep A alive Aを生かしておく

Today too,

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I KA SHI TE I TA DA I TE    A RI GA TO U GO ZA I MA SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

