You are the result of a baton of life having been passed narrowly.

IMG_1527

As the cost of graves has been increasing, it might be difficult for ordinary people to get a new one. When I die, I’d like my family to dispose of my ashes at a crematory and just make a black wooden memorial tablet with the golden words “THE PLACE FOR ANCESTRAL SPIRITS OF SO AND SO FAMILY” written on it, instead of a Tanzaku, a short strip of paper.

  • grave 墓
  • increase 増加する
  • ordinary 普通の
  • dispose 処分する
  • ash 灰
  • creamtatory    火葬場
  • memorial tablet 位牌
  • instead of A Aの代わりに

And I’ve been telling my family to write the year of my death, my age, my name and my simple personal history in a notebook made from Japanese paper as a necrology and put it beside the memorial tablet. My family wants to buy a small grave, though. These things should be left to fortune or karma and are nothing you worry about.

  • necrology 過去帳
  • leave A to B AをBに任せる
  • fortune 運

Holding memorial services has a really deep meaning. Tracing back to your ancestors, you can reach the origin of human beings ultimately. You can never stop at your own ancestors only. If you keep on holding memorial services for your ancestors with “gratitude for being kept alive” being the key, the memorial service becomes the one for all human beings and things and a paean to great nature.

  • memorial service 供養
  • meaning 意味
  • trace back to A Aをたどる
  • ancestor 先祖
  • ultimately 究極的には
  •  keep on ~ing 〜し続ける
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • keep A alive Aを生かしておく
  • paean 賛歌

If you’re in this state of mind,  you wouldn’t care if your memorial service is effective or not. You’ll find yourself holding it just because you cannot help feeling grateful for your existence.

  • state 状態
  • effective 効果がある
  • grateful 感謝に満ちた
  • existence 存在

When you’re worried about the effectiveness of your memorial service, you must be thinking at heart “I did it for you, so what can I get in return?”expecting some profit. If you’re so, you won’t be able to keep on doing it.

  • at heart 心では
  • in return お返しに
  • profit 利益

If your memorial services do have effect on your ancestral spirits, you can keep on doing it naturally. On the other hand, if your memorial services don’t have any effect on them, you’ll stop doing it somehow.

  • have effect on A Aに影響を与える
  • naturally 自然に
  • on the other hand 一方
  • somehow どういうわけか

We’re living now. But living things die easily. Just a simple carelessness can cost you your life. It is “you”, living now, that the result of a baton of life like a fragile, easy to disappear tightrope, having been passed from ancestor to ancestor. What are you complain about?

  • carelessness 不注意
  • result 結果
  • baton バトン
  • frigile 脆い
  • disappear 消える
  • complain  不平を言う

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I KA SHI TE I TA DA I TE    A RI GA TO U GO ZA I MA SU

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

