Teachings and the Ways of Spiritual Trainings Change with the Times

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

“I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te    A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su, ” meaning “Thank you so much for keeping us alive,” will be the most powerful prayer in the future ahead. Prayers or congratulatory addresses have their freshness date and differ in effectiveness depending on the times. Kotodama(言霊), or the spirit of language, is living and so it changes with the times. To remember the words “I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su” in everyday life causes human beings to change and evolve spiritually. Why don’t you get started?

  • prayer 祈り
  • congratulatory address 祝詞
  • differ 異なる
  • depending on A Aに依って
  • cause A to~  Aが〜する原因となる
  • evolve 進化する
  • get started 始める

This is part of the first article of this blog I wrote this day a year ago. Time flies so fast. Human beings have a tendency to think of what ancestors in the past  believed in as a sure thing and believe it without doubting. But was it socially accepted from the beginning? No. At first people considered it something weird, different from traditional moral. Christ, for exapmle, was regarded as a heretic, persecuted and executed in public. Shakuson(釈尊) was assailed by traditional Brahman preachers, too.

  • article 記事
  • tendency 傾向
  • think of A as B AをBと考える
  • doubt 疑う
  • accept 受け入れる
  • heretic 異端
  • persecute 迫害する
  • execute 処刑する
  • assail 攻撃する

Also, Shinran (親鸞)said in the traditional Buddhist society in those days “Men who committed sins, once they resolve to reform themselves, are likely to reconsider their conducts humbly and believe in Amitabh Buddha wholeheartedly.” People mistook his saying for the idea that villains are more likely to attain Buddha hood than ordinary people, and what he said caused controversy in the society. Buddhist scholars must have made a fool of him at first, thinking “He’s weird.” But later his teaching was to be very popular among people.

  • Buddhist society 仏教界
  • commit 犯す
  • sin 罪
  • resolve 決意する
  • reform 改める
  • reconsider 反省する
  • humbly 謙虚に
  • wholeheartedly 一心に
  • mistake A for B AをBと間違って捉える
  • villain 悪党
  • attain Buddha hood 悟る
  • controversy 論争
  • make a fool of A Aを馬鹿にする

The times go on with changes. The age of wars, scarcity, cultural development, affluence and security, and disputes —the times change by turns, crossing each other. Similarly, teachings and the ways of spiritual training have to match with the times, the current of magnetism of the earth, and natural environment in order to be practical. If you persist in the obsolete ways of the past times, you can’t cause any change.

  • scarcity 不足
  • by turns 代わる代わる
  • similarly 同様に
  • current 流れ
  • magnetism 磁気
  • persist in A Aに固執する
  • obsolete 時代遅れの

By the way, when I was a little child, I would often watch TV programs of discussing people’s troubles over money, sexual problems or illness etc. Being a child, I didn’t understand them well, but I loved watching such TV shows somehow. I knew there were a lot of unfortunate people. With a doctor giving a piece of advice to a man with some mental problem, and a Buddhist monk telling about the problem of tombs, what I was thinking was always the same: “They have to relieve their ancestral spirits in the right way.” Though I was a child, I felt it a shame that there was no means of truly solving problems in the world.

  • would often~ よく〜したものだ
  • somehow どういうわけか
  • unfortunate 不幸な
  • tomb 墓
  • relieve 楽にする
  • shame 残念な事
  • means 手段
  • solve 解決す

Now, I’m really happy to have been able to write articles on this blog almost everyday over the past one year. I couldn’t have done that without my health, job and family. I’ve been fortunate enough to update articles everyday feeling a stare of a certain great will. I’m feeling as refreshed as if I started to write an article for the first time.

  • fortunate 幸運な
  • stare 視線
  • will 意志
  • feel refreshed 清々しい
  • for the first time 初めて

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te    A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping us alive.

Leave a Reply

