Function of Water Offered to a Shinto Altar

e1fb1a3d0834431dd5b0cbb2312b7752

It’s better to keep open the lid of the water container put in front of your kamidana(神棚),  a household shinto altar. When I set my kamidana in my house for the first time, I kept the lid half open or put it beside the container. But as I felt the lid was closing the surface of the water or thought that the lid beside the container was obstruction, I put it away.

  • keep A open  Aを開けておく
  • lid 蓋
  • for the first time 初めて
  • surface 表面
  • obstruction 邪魔
  • put A away  Aを片付ける

The water offered to a kamidana is important. I change the water every day. Unlike the way I change the water in the vase of Sakaki plants offered to my kamidana, I change the water in the water container with great care so that the water is protected from my breath.

  • vase 花瓶
  • so that S+V SがVするように

Holy spirits purify things with water energy. When you begin to offer gratitude toward your kamidana, your Inner God and the local deity sympathize with each other and the magnetism of the holy spirit comes close to the Sakaki plants put on the both sides of the kamiadana. And the holy spirit gives off the energy of purification with the use of the molecules of the water.

  • purify 浄化する
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • sympathize 共鳴する
  • magnetism 磁気
  • molecule 分子

These water molecules can change into what is needed then. When your house is filled with a lot of wicked energy, for example, it appears that the holy spirit changes the molecule of water into a sword and purifies your house. Just as the smoke of incense sticks you offer toward a tanzaku, a strip of Japanese paper, changes into what lost spirits want, holy spirits purify things with water. The surface of water in the container has a function as a mirror, too. I feel that Inner God of a worshipper and the god being worshiped reflect onto the water.

  • wicked 邪悪な
  • sword 剣
  • incense stick 線香
  • lost 迷える
  • function 機能
  • reflect 映る

The water container being round and small, I have ever asked a god whether to replace it with a bigger one. It told me that though it looked small in the World of Reality, it was so big like Lake Biwa that I didn’t have to do it. In view of the size of molecules seen from spiritual beings in other dimensions, you don’t have to care about the size of the container and the amount of water in it in the World of Reality.The approach to Izougu(伊雑宮)of Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮)is very short, to be sure, but when my spiritual body pays a visit to the shrine, it feels very long in my brain. It looks as if it were 2 kilometers.

  • whether to~ 〜するべきかどうか
  • replace 取り替える
  • the World of Reality 現実界
  • in view of A  Aを考慮にいれると
  • dimension 次元
  • approach 参道
  • as S+V あたかもSがVするかのように

Also, it’s no good to receive a kamidana, including a secondhand one, from another person. If you receive one from your parents or it has been taken over from generation to generation in your family line, it’s OK. But if you get one from another person, the spiritual dirt of the person or the person’ s family is attached to it. Even if it’s an expensive one, you’d better not receive it.

  • including A Aを含めて
  • secondhand 中古の
  • generation 世代
  • expensive 高価な
  • had better not~ 〜しない方がよい

If you don’t have a kamidana, why don’t you put an ofuda(神札), a type of amulet sold at a shrine, on a stand and offer a container with water in it and Sakaki plants toward the kamidana? It’s no problem. By doing so you can make the place holy spirits can come by. But remember that all you can offer toward the altar is gratitude for your present situations. This is enough for the holy spirit. Things are going to get better.

  • why don’t you~? 〜してはどうですか?
  • come by 立ち寄る
  • present situations 現状
  • get better 良くなる

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te    A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

