The Only Way to Abolish Wars That Oharae-no-kotoba Suggests

麻賀田神社

Oharae-no-kotoba(大祓詞), meaning ” the Words of Great Purification”, a primary shinto prayer, was received from the World of Gods by Princess Yamatohime-no-mikoto(倭姫命)about two thousand years ago. Reading this prayer, you could also feel a magnificent story despite its archaic words.

  • prayer 祝詞
  • magnificent 壮大な
  • despite A Aにも関わらず
  • archaic 古代の

When I was a high school student, I had a class of reading ancient classics, where I had more difficulty reading ancient writings written about a thousand years ago than Oharae-no-kotoba. Most of the ancient writings were difficult to understand, but Oharae-no-kotoba was different.

  • ancient classics 古文
  • have difficulty ~ing 〜するのに苦労する

Recently, I feel strongly attracted to a certain part of the prayer. It’s in the first half of the prayer and says in a colloquial translation “I will set up thick pillars firmly on a stone sill deep underground and build a great house for my descendants to live in.”

  • attract 引きつける
  • certain ある
  • the first half 前半
  • colloquial 口語の
  • translation 翻訳
  • pillar 柱
  • sill 土台
  • descendant 子孫

These words mean spiritually “I hope there will stand on earth a lot of thick pillars, namely a lot of human beings with God inside them.” The last part of the prayer suggests “If this happens, all sins and defilement will vanish.” As more and more people become aware of their Inner God on the earth, the human race will begin to choose wise decisions and wars will be abolished.

  • namely すなわち
  • defilement 汚れ
  • vanish 消える
  • aware 気付く
  • the human race 人類
  • wise 懸命な
  • abolish  無くす

Wars in the modern age are caused by religions such as the Christian, Islamic and Jewish fundamentalist groups trying to realize their teachings or ideas, which are all those of Outer God. Behind these wars lies the silly idea that as long as the world is at peace they can never have Christ come because the Bible says He comes at the end of the world, so they need to bring about wars and make up the Armageddon for the Advent.

  • cause 引き起こす
  • religion 宗教
  • fundamentalist 原理主義者
  • Outer God 外在神
  • silly 愚かな
  • as long as S+V SがVする限り
  • bring about A  Aを引き起こす

Recently, I feel the pleasant wind is blowing against my body, even in my room, which comes from the direction of Ise(伊勢) as if it were suggesting “Set up a lot of great walking pillars in this country.” I’m visiting Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮) this year. I have a hunch that a visit to Ise this time will be a little bit different from the past ones. I want a lot of sacred walking pillars, or living human beings, to stand up strong in this country.

  • pleasant 心地よい
  • direction 方向
  • hunch 予感
  • past 過去の
  • want A to~ Aに〜して欲しいと思う

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te    A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

