While You’re Alive, All You Have to do is Live Hard

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

At homes for the aged, it is said, old people can get better mentally by holding or touching pet animals. And it is also said that when people get irritated, they can feel calm by holding a pet cat or dog. I think this is partly because the magnetism of irritation can be discharged by touching animal hair.

  • the aged 老人
  • irritated イライラした
  • magnetism 磁気
  • discharge 放電する

However, I feel strong resistance to keeping animals within a house. I used to keep a lot of animals, including my pet dog John. My father kept our house and himself clean very carefully because his family line was that of shinto priesthood. He said that animals should be kept outside of the house, which I took for granted.

  • resistance 抵抗
  • including A  Aを含めて
  • priesthood 聖職
  • take A for granted Aを当たり前に思う

Also, when I contemplate or receive a divine message, I need to fill a room or the inside of my house with my spiritual magnetism. The frequency of spiritual vibration of the other family members are near to mine, so I’m not affected by them. But when an animal is near to me, I find it difficult to set up a spiritual barrier due to the difference in spiritual vibration. It’s OK for people in general to keep a pet animal inside the house and be healed by it.

  • contemplate 沈思黙考する
  • divine 神の
  • fill 満たす
  • frequency 振動数
  • due to A Aのために
  • in general 一般の

Unexpectedly, some famous religious men sat on a fur. If they lived in the modern age, they would be protested by animal welfare groups. There were many sages in India who used carpets made of fur habitually. Ikkyu, a famous Japanese zen monk, also used one. For one thing,  he wanted to destroy a holy image people had toward priests. For another, he could concentrate on meditation on the carpet that got rid of unnecessary spiritual magnetism. Every time I hear about animal therapy or furs, I remember Ikku somehow.

  • unexpectedly 意外なことに
  • fur 毛皮
  • the modern age 現代
  • protest 抗議する
  • sage 聖人
  • habitually 日常的に
  • get rid of A   Aを取り除く

By the way, there are a lot of interesting episodes about Ikkyu. Among them, the most interesting one is an episode of him mystifying an answer to the question whether he has been spiritually awakened. Hearing this episode makes me feel his affection toward his disciplines because at that time they, zen practitioners, were likely to think like “I can’t reach spiritual enlightenment by any means. I’ m worthless.” Some of them lost confidence in themselves and killed themselves in the middle of ascetic practices.

  • mystify 煙に巻く
  • be awakened 悟る
  • discipline 弟子
  • by any means 決して〜ない
  • confidence 自身

The last words Ikkyu said just before he died were ” I don’t wanna die.” He finished his life with the words typical of him, not suitable for an eminent monk who has attained spiritual enlightenment. Also, he left his disciplines a letter, saying “Should a serious problem occur in the future, open this letter. But only if all of you think you’ve got into a desperate situation.” A few years later, a serious a problem happened to them. They thought” It’s time to ask for his advice.” All disciplines got together to open the letter. They gazed at the letter opened up holding their breath. It said, “Don’t worry. It will come out all right.”

  • typical 典型的な
  • suitable ふさわしい
  • eminent 高名な
  • desperate 絶望的な
  • hold one’s breath 息を飲む

What he wanted to say, I feel , is “While you’re alive, all you have to do is live hard.” His words sound like a great humorous means, saying “Don’t worry while you’re alive. Worry after you die! ” Ikkyu surely touched the fundamental being, which is a mass of true love. He frankly showed people “sad” dispositions of human beings and passed away, leaving behind an aspect of true spiritual enlightenment. He must’ve enjoyed his life to the full.

  • alive 生きている
  • surely 確かに
  • mass 塊
  • aspect 面
  • to the full 思う存分

一休

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

