Original Function of Shinto Shrines will Revive

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

In early August, I bought young Hon-Sakaki plants, planted them in my garden and, selecting four from them, offered them to my household shinto altar. Before offering them, I washed each of the big leaves carefully and put two plants at each side of the altar. Sakaki plants of your own planting breed worms easily. Non-Sakaki plants I bought at a flower shop before were bunched up beautifully. Though I thought the amount of the leaves of the two Hon-Sakaki plants was small, I put them with some leaves sticking out in a natural way.

  • altar 祭壇
  • worm 虫
  • bunch 束ねる
  • stick out 飛び出る

When I got Shinsatsu(神札), a kind of talisman available at shinto shrines, at Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮)and enshrined it in my shinto altar on August 15, I cut off two branches of the Hon-sakaki plants in my garden and added one to the Sakaki plants at each side of the altar. This three Sakaki plants looked different from the two ones, when I clearly perceived the difference in the degree to which holy energy approaches them. I had a new understanding of how important the number of leaves of Sakaki plants beside the shinto altar, because the leaves function as Yorishiro, a kind of medium for spirits to stay at temporarily.

  • available 入手できる
  • enshrine 祀る
  • perceive 知覚する
  • function 機能する
  • medium 媒介

It has been more than a month since I offered the Hon-Sakaki plants, but their conditions have not changed at all. I found drops of water around Sakaki stands recently. Looking at it closely, I found that the leaves had absorbed water and got wet. They are living creatures, aren’t they?

  • condition 状態
  • drop of water 水滴
  • recently 最近
  • closely 近くに
  • absorb 吸収する

By 2007, I had often found a phenomenon that Sakaki plants at the right side of the shinto alter wither first. This is because a local deity attaches negative energy of defilement of a house it patrols to the leaves of the Sakaki plants at the right side. In the future ahead, however, this phenomenon will cease to happen. I think the leaves of Sakaki plants at both sides will wither at the same time.

  • phenomenon 現象
  • wither 枯れる
  • local 地域の
  • deity 神
  • attach つける
  • defilement 汚れ
  • cease やめる

This has something to do with the fact that as the spiritual light of the sun becomes more and more intense, spiritual beings who work for God will be absorbed in their superior spiritual beings and the latter will also be absorbed in spiritual beings higher in rank. All spiritual beings belonging to the World of Gods will either return to Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami (天照太御神)or work for God as Inner God of living human beings.

  • have something to do with A Aと何らかの関係がある
  • spiritual light 霊光
  • intense 強烈な
  • belong 属する

In the era to come, “outer” gods will leave shrines and by visiting a shrine, you can have your Inner God manifest itself more easily. As a result, the original function of ancient shinto will revive, meaning that shinto shrines are where living gods(=humans =divine pillars) stand. I’m really looking forward to the advent of the new era.

  • era 時代
  • manifest oneself 現れる
  • function 機能
  • ancient 古代の
  • revive 復活する
  • advent 到来

By the way, I paid a visit to Shirayama-Hime shrine(白山比咩神社)in Ishikawa prefecture in the evening in the evening last month. The shrine office had already been closed and no purification ceremony was not performed in the shrine building. So luckliy I was able to stand right in front of Haiden, a place for pray, with no one standing between me and Haiden for the first time in a while. Just then, I perceived the same energy body of the holy spirit I see spiritually every time I visit Ise Grand Shrine. I felt its high purity.

  • ritual 儀式
  • purification ceremony お祓い
  • for the first time in a while 久しぶりに
  • every time S+V SがVする度に

Trying to go back, I found a young couple in their twenties worshipping toward the big sacred rock, whose form is that of three mountains of Mt. Hakusan,  located at Hakusan-okunomiya-yohai-sho(白山奥宮遥拝所). The young man had long, bleached hair and wore glittering pierced earrings with a big hole. He was dressed like a rapper. I, looking at him with my wife, thought his attitude was really great. He was worshipping very politely and naturally without pretentiousness. There was something clean and pure about the way he worshipped, which holy spirits would love. I felt no spiritual dirt of any new religion about him.

  • worship 礼拝する
  • sacred 神聖な
  • bleached hair 茶髪
  • attitude 態度
  • polite 礼儀正し
  • pretensiousness 気負い
  • dirt 垢

When I, walking back to the parking lot with my wife, said to her “A young man like him is rare. How did he build such a graceful attitude? Is he a reader of my blog?” She suggested that we go back to talk to him, so we went back to the precinct only to find that he had already gone. The fact that there is a young generation who can worship naturally like him makes me sure that the new era is about to come.

  • rare 珍しい
  • graceful 優雅な
  • precinct 境内
  • gone いない

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

