Visit to Ise in the Twentieth Year of Heisei Period – Part 1

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

Around the end of June, I felt like visiting Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮) on August 15. As I work in a sales job, I have to take days off when my clients don’t make an emergency call. Also, it costs a lot of money to visit there with my family, so I can’t do it many times.

index_01_p02

 

Mr.Kurozumi Munetada(黒住宗忠), a shintoist in the late Edo period, visited Ise Grand Shrine six times in his life. This is amazing, for visiting Ise must’ve been risking his life in those days. Since he walked to Ise, there must’ve been a lot of risks on the way, such as illness, injury, disaster, robbers and so on. There exist his memorandums for borrowing money he signed before visiting Ise.

  • shintoist 神道家
  • risk 危険に晒す
  • in those days 当時は
  • on the way 途中で
  • memorandum 覚書

In those days, it was a dream for people to visit Ise Grand Shrine once in a lifetime. A system named Iseko(伊勢講)was popular all over Japan, where people saved money for the trip to Ise and chose one representative to visit there by lottery. Some travelers on the way to Ise were given food and money by others. Others stayed at a place to work temporarily and after a while left for Ise.

  • representative 代表
  • lottery  クジ
  • temporarily 一時的に
  • after a while しばらくすると

People who were not chosen left their dog to their representative so that the dog could accompanied him. I wonder if there was a dog that completed the journey without running away. If there had been such a dog, it would’ve been really a guardian fog.

  • leave A to B AをBに任せる
  • accompany 同行する
  • complete 終える
  • guardian dog 狛犬

I got up at three in the morning on August 15, got into my car and left home. Feeling the beating of Mt. Hakusan (白山)in the distance, I used Shin-Meishin Expressway(新名神高速道路) for the first time, which was a beautiful new road.  To my surprise, the area extending from Shigaraki(信楽), through Kouga(甲賀) to Kameyama(亀山) was filled with spiritual wave of Ise-Hakusan line. The road seems to have made in the middle of untouched nature.

  • beating 鼓動
  • to one’s surprise 驚いたことに
  • extend 広がる
  • untouched 手付かずの

Areas are few on which spiritual waves of regeneration pour down so much from space. I felt this might have something to do with a certain factory famous for the development of world-class LCD screen being located in Kameyama. Places like this may cause people to hit upon good ideas or have some effect on molecules of liquid crystal being arranged uniformly. I thought one of the reasons why Kameyama brand of liquid crystal television is famous may be the location of its factory.

  • regeneartion 再生
  • pour down 降り注ぐ
  • development 開発
  • LCD screen 液晶画面
  • hit upon A  Aを思いつく
  • molecule 分子
  • uniformely 均一に

I stopped to take a rest several times on the way and arrived at Geku(外宮) of Ise Grand Shrine around 8:30 in the morning. After visiting the main building and the other ones in Geku, I received a prayer service of Daidai-Kagura(大々神楽)for the purpose of expressing gratitude to God at Kagura-den(神楽殿). To be continued.

  • for the purpose of ~ing 〜するために
  • gratitude 感謝の気持ち
  • to be contined 続く

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

