Visit to Ise in the Twentieth Year of Heisei Period – Part 4

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

After visiting Geku(外宮) of Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮), we headed for Izougu(伊雑宮) by car.We drove on a national route, feeling Mt.Asama on our left, which mountain is located at an important point of the solar orbit. As we went near Isobe-cho(磯部町), we saw a few stores along the national route.

  • head for A Aに向かう
  • national route 国道
  • orbit 軌道

Going down a slope, we found two police cars stopping on the opposite lanes. There was a crackdown going on on speeding offenses. Seeing it, I said to my family “The police men look busy even on Obon Festival, do they?” and asked them to let me know the crackdown on the way back so that I wouldn’t forget about it.

  • slope 坂
  • opposite 反対の
  • speeding offense スピード違反
  • on the way back 帰りに

When I entered the parking lot of Izougu, I found that it was expanded and that the rice fields where Otaue Ceremony(御田植式) was to be held was furnished with roofs for visitors. There was no such a parking lot about twenty years ago, when I reached Izougu for the first time on my midsize motorcycle, led by a holy spirit. While I was delighted to see Izougu improved gradually, I remembered the old, countrified remnant of Izougu nostalgically.

%e4%bc%8a%e9%9b%91%e5%ae%ae

  • parking lot 駐車場
  • expand 拡張する
  • rice field 田んぼ
  • furnish 備え付ける
  • be delighted 嬉しい
  • remnant 面影
  • countrified 素朴な

I also found that the shop sign of an eel restaurant in front of the main entrance of Izougu was renewed. It used to be so lifeless that I would often wonder if the restaurant was open.

  • eel うなぎ
  • renew 新しくする
  • lifeless 活気のない

Passing the Torii(鳥居), a front guard frame, of Izougu and purifying my hands and mouth with water, I wend down the path slowly. Every time I visit Izougu, I feel the path of Izougu to be a birth canal of a pregnant woman. Walking down the path is like returning to a mother’s womb from this world. The main building of Izougu corresponds to the womb.

  • path 小道
  • birth canal 産道
  • pregnant 妊娠した
  • womb 子宮
  • correspond 相当する

As is often the case every time I visit Izougu, no sooner had I prayed in front of the main building than the sun disk of Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami(天照太御神) appeared in my heart. The spiritual vibration was quiet and gentle as usual, which made me feel that the turning point  of the time was no big deal for the holy spirit and that she was just watching over everlasting time. The holy spirit can be said to be the mother of the earth and is like a big mama.

  • no sooner had S pp than S’+V’ Sが〜するやいなやS’はV’した
  • as usual いつものように
  • no big deal 大したものではない
  • watch over A Aを見守る
  • everlasting 悠久の

After visiting Izougu, we went for lunch to a French restaurant in front of the main entrance of Geku. Since I visited Ise Grand Shrine for the first time in one year and several months and hadn’t spent time with my whole family for a while, we ordered course meals of 3500 yen each. I was regretful that I couldn’t drink alcohol  because I had to drive.

  • each それぞれ
  • regretful 残念な

When we got out of the restaurant, I found a picture of Torii of Naiku(内宮)of Ise Grand Shrine put by the cashier. There was an iridescent orb under the Torii in the picture. I thought it was unusual that an orb was photographed so clearly in a low position.

  • iridescent 虹色の
  • photograph 撮る

Leaving my car at the free parking area of Geku, we decided to take a bus bound for Naiku leaving from the bus stop in front of the restaurant because I thought it would take too much time to get there at the sight of traffic congestion around Naiku on the way to Geku from Izougu.

To be continued.

  • bound for A A行きの
  • congestion 混雑

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

