Visit to Ise in the Twentieth Year of Heisei Period – Part 5

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

We got on a bus at the bus stop in front of the entrance of Geku(外宮) and headed for Naiku(内宮). I got on a public bus for the first time in several decades. The bus announced many times that passengers should prepare for the fare in advance, so my wife and I did it a little bit clumsily checking out each other’s purse. The fare was 410 yen each beyond expectation. I had been thinking it would cost about 200 yen, but the fare rose up just before arriving at Naiku. You may as well get off the bus at a bus stop near Okage-Yokocho(おかげ横丁).

  • head 向かう
  • decade 十年
  • fare 運賃
  • in advance 前もって
  • clumsily もたつきながら
  • purse 小銭入れ
  • expectation 予想
  • may as well~ 〜した方がよいかもしれない

We entered the entrance path of Naiku past 1:30 p.m.. It was dangerously hot that day. The old and the sick had better not visit Ise Grand Shrine(伊勢神宮) during the day in summer. Spiritually speaking, it is best to visit there early in the morning, or at least before 9:30 a.m.. Indeed, there is a folklore among African peoples who worship the sun, saying that the sun only at sunrise and sunset is God while the sun during the day isn’t.

  • entrance path 参道
  • indeed 実際
  • folklore 民間伝承

On praying at the main building of Naiku, I felt the spiritual vibration of the level 7 of Amaterasu-oho-mi-kami(天照御太神). I saw a light pillar rising vaguely toward heaven at the building site for a new main building next to the present site. Normally, you can see the back of the main building looking majestic and beautiful from the path to Aramatsuri-no-miya(荒祭宮) , but this time I couldn’t see it because there were fences around the site. At Aramaturi-no-miya, I felt nothing spiritual.

  • pillar 柱
  • vaguely ぼんやりと
  • site 用地
  • normally 普段は
  • mejstic 荘厳な

I bought Kenbarai-fuda(剣祓札) at the place where people reveive Shinsatsu(神札), a kind of talisman, and left Naiku. At Okage Yokocho, I ate snow cone to cool down myself. Looking at my shoes, I found them covered with white stone dust 0f the entrance path of Naiku. I thought I would polish them at the hotel then, but I left them as they were until I got home after all. I thought this was a kind of souvenir from Ise. We took a taxi from Naiku to Geku instead of a bus. If your group is more than four persons, taking a taxi is more reasonable than a bus.

  • snow cone かき氷
  • polish 磨く
  • souvenir お土産
  • instead of A  Aの代わりに
  • reasonable お得な

In the taxi, the driver told us an interesting story. According to him, skin diseases caused by UV light had been prevailing among taxi drivers since last year. They had asked their taxi company for a UV ray absorbing film again and again, but it ignored the request every time. He said laughingly that they might need sunglasses like ones used in the South Pole.

  • disease 病気
  • UV light 紫外線
  • pravail 蔓延する
  • absorb 吸収する
  • ignore 無視する
  • the South Pole 南極

Parting from the other family at the parking lot of Geku, our family went to a store selling shinto altar fittings in front of Geku to buy a linen string. I have the string attached to the edge of a pole of Hassoku-dai(八足台), a table with eight legs for a shinto altar, to use it as a medium for holy spirits to stay at temporarily.

219emxkjwpl

  • part from A  Aと別れる
  • linen 麻の
  • attach くっつける
  • altar 祭壇
  • medium 媒介

The next day, we went to an old Soba restaurant, which was one of purveyors of the Imperial Household Agency, in Sakamoto(坂本) of Shiga prefecture(滋賀県) to eat delicious soba. The building of the restaurant was more than 120 years old and tasteful. I felt that the reataurant, located on the entrance path to Hiyoshi Taisha(日吉大社), was in the rounding course of Saru-Oni(猿鬼), or a monky-ogre, a low-ranked subordinate spirit to Susanoo(スサノオ). Such restaurants as worship local spirits respectfully will last long. I started homeward, looking at Lake Biwa(琵琶湖) in the distance.

  • purveyor 御用達
  • tasteful 趣のある
  • rounding course 巡回コース
  • subordinate 従属する
  • respectfully 丁重に
  • last 続く
  • in the distance 遠くに

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

