My Benefactor and A Deity to be Revered and Feared

森羅万象第6巻 表紙

A man I was obliged to passed away in May, 2007. He lived to be eighty years and ten days. I think he passed away very satisfied. Though he was a doctor, his way of life was like that of shintoist.

  • be obliged to A Aに世話になる
  • satisfied 満足して

My benefactor was born at the beginning of the Showa period and went to school aiming to be a military man during the World War Ⅱ. Just before he went to the battlefield, the war was over. He was at a loss what to do next, when he remembered what his mother had told him: one day, when he was almost dead because of a fever, his mother asked a shintoist to heal him. The shintoist cured his fever and said, “God exists in his body and he’s going to be a doctor who saves a lot of people.”

  • aim 目指す
  • military man 軍人
  • at a loss 途方にくれる
  • fever 熱病
  • save 救う

He graduated from high school under the old system of education and went on to a medical school of a former Imperial University, thinking “I almost died twice when I was a child because of the fever and the war. Then I’m going to die after doing something good to people.” He was very clever by nature.

  • former Imperial University 旧帝大
  • by nature 生まれつき

Becoming a doctor, he was sent by the university to a large hospital and worked for it. According to him, in the case that a patient who was seriously injured came to his hospital in emergency when he was the only duty doctor there, he would often perform an operation on the patient, praying to God, because it was too late to wait for another doctor to come in midnight. Most of such patients would recover miraculously. In another case, a yakuza was brought to his hospital at midnight with a dagger sticking in his lung. He operated on the yakuza with the help of two nurses till morning and when another doctor came to the hospital in the morning, he was very surprised to see what my benefactor had done.

  • patient 患者
  • in emergency 緊急で
  • operation 手術
  • midnight 真夜中
  • miraculously 奇跡的に
  • stick 刺さる
  • lung 肺

My benefactor came to be popular as a doctor and had confidence in starting practice. But since it took a lot of money to open a hospital, he applied for a public advertisement by his hospital of a post of a doctor who was supposed to work at a rural area. He resulted in going alone to a remote place where no doctor lived, hoping that he could make twice as much money.

  • condfidence 自信
  • apply 申し込む
  • advertisement 広告
  • rural 田舎の
  • remote 離れた

One night, when he was telling a good villager that he came to the village to make money for starting his own hospital, the villager told him that there was a very powerful shrine in the village, and that even Kukai visited the shrine to pray so that he could make enough money to found a temple building at Mt. Koya and as the result his wish was soon realized. The villager recommend him to visit the shrine everyday.

  • found 創建する
  • realize   実現させる
  • immediately ただちに
  • recommend 勧める

Accorging the the villager, as the deity was very strong and fearful, some villagers called it not its real name Koujin-sama(荒神様)but Fearful God. It was said among the villagers that to pay a visit to the shrine at night would make wishes come true. So my benefactor visited the shrine to pray with ardor every night so that he could found his own hospital.

  • fearful 恐ろしい
  • pay a visit 訪問する
  • honestly 正直に

After a time, when he went back to Osaka on a holiday, he felt like taking a walk in a suburban, rural area. He chose a train line at random and left home with a lunch box together with his family. He got off the train at a station aimlessly and began to walk, when he found a university standing in the middle of the rural area. Its campus is now large, but the buildings and the site were about one-tenth as large as they are.

  • feel like ~ing 〜したい気がする
  • suburban 郊外の
  • rural 田舎の
  • aimlessly あてもなく

Waking for another ten minutes, he saw a few farmers taking a rest. He asked them about the name of the place. Then the farmers began to talk to him and he told them that he was a doctor and was looking for a site for his own hospital. A farmer told him that no doctor was available there, which was very inconvenient for the villagers, adding that he could sell his own rice field of about 3000 m2 to him if he wished. My benefactor got worried about the price because he was just a hospital doctor at that time. He asked him the price and knew that the price was so low that his his annual income could cover it. After all, he obtained his own land at a corner of this rural area.

  • take a rest 休憩をとる
  • rice field 田んぼ
  • annual income 年収
  • obtain 獲得する

Two years later, his land still being empty, the whole area was authorized by the city as special development area because of the university, and as a result, facilities of sewerage and electricity, roads and other public facilities were built one after another at the area, and the whole area changed greatly. The appraised value of his land rose up high and he was able to borrow from a bank the money for building his hospital and house on the security of his land. That time was also the period of rapid economic growth in the 1940s, so that the area where his hospital was situated changed from an agricultural region to a bedroom town of Osaka. A lot of patients came to his hospital and he worked so hard even on Sundays that he paid off the debt in just two years.

  • authorize 認可する
  • development 開発
  • sewerage 下水
  • appraised value 評価された価値
  • security 担保
  • rapid 急速な
  • patient 患者
  • debt 負債

He devoted himself to the community medicine without so much as taking a trip. The one thing that he looked forward to was having a drink with his dinner. After drinking sake every night, he became diabetic. And when he turned sixty, he lost his eye because of diabetes. He failed to practice what he preached.

  • devote 捧げる
  • look forward 楽しみにする
  • diabetic 糖尿病
  • preach 説教する

I was just over twenty at that time and would perform a spiritual prayer or teletherapy for people for nothing. I did such things only to the people who asked me for help and did it to train myself, too. Those days were the time when the World of the Dead had a strong influence and impinged greatly on the World of Reality. I was spiritually sensitive at that time with more than 100 Kenzoku-shins possessing me. I had a good reputation with such people who had something to do with me in terms of karma and one of them told my benefactor about me and he said that he definitely wanted to meet me. This is how we came to know each other.

  • teletherapy 遠隔療法
  • for nothing 無料で
  • influence 影響
  • impinge 作用する
  • possess 憑依する
  • reputation 評判
  • reply 返答する

After opening his hospital, he furnished a household shinto altar with his house and never failed to offer O-harae-no-kotoba(大祓詞)to it and hold a memorial service for his ancestors every morning. When I visited him for the first time on a holiday, I found that his house was a big one with extensive grounds and he had a fine physique and features. What I felt on meeting him was that his family line had much to do with Susanoo(スサノオ). He had part of the spirit of Susanoo in his heart as Inner God, thanks to the help of Ubusuna-kami(産土神), or a guardian deity of one’s birthplace.

  • furnish 備え付ける
  • extensive 広大な
  • physique 身体
  • features 顔立ち

As I could see his ancestral spirits who looked like shinto priests, I asked him if he had some ancestors who were shinto priests. He said that he had a couple of ancestors who had been shinto priests among remote relatives and that his ancestors had been taking care of an ancient tomb mound regarded as that of Susanoo for generations. Hearing this, I was convinced why I felt Susanoo on meeting him. Also, I felt that there was a similar kind of history and genealogy between my ancestors and his. In the country all over Japan there are often legends of ancient tomb mounds of secret deities.

  • ancestral 先祖の
  • tomb mound 古墳
  • genealogy 家系

What I perceived next was Kenzoku-shins in line of fierce gods of the World of the Dead. I found that they were different spiritual beings from the ones in line of Susanoo. Since I felt that the spiritual beings were protecting him very hard in this World of Reality and they were involved in the management of his hospital, I asked him if he had prayed for something with ardor somewhere before. Then he told me about the Koujin-sama. Looking at them in my spiritual vision, I found they were surely Kenzoku-shins of Koujin-sama.

  • in line of A A系統の
  • involved 関わっている

In this World of Reality, holy spirits of the World of Gods don’t assist people in personal profits, while spiritual beings of the World of the Dead and ancestral spirits are allowed to. Ancestral spirits’ assistance is love that asks for nothing in return and no exchange conditions. The more energy of gratitude ancestral spirits receive from their descendants, the stronger their protection for their descendants living in the World of Reality.

  • assist 手助けする
  • profit 利益
  • in return お返しに
  • exchange conditions 交換条件
  • descendant 子孫

Assistance from spiritual beings of the World of the Dead, on the other hand, requires exchange conditions. Once such a spiritual being has realized someone’s wish, it is sure to take away something worthy of it from the person when he/she forgets about it. In the case of my benefactor, it was his left eye. To pray for something in exchange for something means to “bet an eye” in Japanese. This isn’t just a game of rhyming. Here lies a mystery of the Japanese language.

  • require 要求する
  • be sure to~   必ず〜する
  • bet 掛ける
  • rhyming 言葉遊び

He was deeply convinced of what I told him about this kind of thing. According to him, whenever some serious problem happened to the management of his hospital, it resolved itself smoothly. I said that I couldn’t seal up the Kenzoku-shin of Koujin-sama and that Kukai, who also prayed with ardor to Kouji-sama, could suppress the exercise of the exchange conditions by being a corporator of Koujin-sama and never forgetting gratitude to it. Later, my benefactor made it a rule to offer gratitude to Koujin-sama everyday and contributed a lot of money to the shrine.

  • resolve oneself  解決する
  • seal up A Aを封じ込める
  • suppress 抑制する
  • corporator 協力者
  • contribute 寄付する

Around the time he lost his eye, his eldest son took over the hospital as a doctor, so he was bored not knowing what to do with his time. After that, he was kind enough to ask me to come over to him for dinner on weekends. We talked about various things over dinner, such as world affairs, history and the universe. I went out for a trip with him once in a while, driving my car. At that time I had just got the present job and had been transferred from the head office in Chubu region to Osaka branch. I really owed much to him. I had been on familiar terms with him for about four years until I got married and left Osaka to go back to the head office.

  • bored 退屈した
  • affectionate 愛情深い
  • world affairs 世界情勢
  • transfer 異動させる
  • branch 支社
  • familiar 親しい

Every time I met him, I thought that his atmosphere was similar to that of my father and they had much in common. My father’s hometown and my benefactor’s are quite different, but I was always feeling a special karma between us in that our ancestors had been taking care of ancient tomb mounds, too. I think we met each other led by Susanoo. Japan is really a mysterious country, where people with the same kind of karma are attracted to each other.

  • every time S+V SがVするたびに
  • atmosphere 雰囲気
  • similar 似ている
  • in common 共通に
  • attract 引き付ける

You, reading this blog, must have some karma to do with me from ancient times. What you’re interested in is not just an accidental. It has various, deep meanings.

  • accidental 偶然の
  • meaning 意味

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.

Leave a Reply

