Good Balance of Happiness You’ll never Know

When I visit a client company I’m in charge of, I sometimes see a mentally-handicapped young man walking on the company’s premise or in the neighborhood. Everytime I see him, I find him walking happily with a canned coffee in his hand. He walks around aimlessly, muttering to himself. He seems unable to speak clearly.

  • mentally-handicapped 知的障害のある
  • premise 敷地
  • mutter ブツブツ言う

One day, I went to the president’s house near the company on business. On pushing the buzzer, the door was opened. I wondered if it was an automatic door, when the familiar young man came out of the door screaming. The president came out and said “Our family’s treasure has left the building.” He looked at my face smiling.

  • automatic 自動の
  • familiar 馴染みのある
  • treasure 宝物

On the way back, I was thinking that the president was really great. He was dignified accepting and understanding his son as he was, and never trying to hide him from the eyes of others. Many of the families I know that have mentally-handicapped persons have them stay at institutions. They seem to want to take care of their handicapped children in their houses if possible, but there must be some reason for it. I thought the president taking care of his son at home was a very kind parent though I knew there are various cases according to the family’s condition or the disability level.

  • on the way back 帰る途中で
  • accpet 受け入れる
  • institution 施設
  • condition 状況

On one occasion, I happened to find the son walking down the street far from the company. I was surprised that he was walking that far. Then, unexpectedly enough, I found out that he was keeping a cigarette in his mouth. He was walking fast with a roll of his hips as if he were in a  walking race, clicking a cigarette lighter in his hand.

  • on one occasion ある時
  • that far そんなに遠くまで
  • walking race 競歩

I thought he would be old enough to smoke a cigarette but that his father didn’t know this, so I pulled over my car to think about whether I should give him a warning. With the time for a business talk drawing near, however, I left the place throwing the magnetism of care at him.

  • pull over A Aを止める
  • warning 警告
  • draw near 近づく

On the way back from the business talk in the evening, I went to the company worrying about him, when I found that the president, with tears in his eyes, was slapping his son’s face in the parking lot. The moment  I got out of my car and the president turned around to look at me, the son ran away crying.

  • slap 叩く
  • turn around 振り向く
  • run away 逃げる
  • the moment S+V SがVするや否や

The president told me that he caught his son smoking and was telling him off. According to him, he had warned him not to play with fire many times because it could cause others trouble. I could do nothing but nod, saying “It’s an important thing.” Seeing his eyes filled with tears, I felt his love toward his son.

  • catch A ~ing Aが〜している現場を抑える
  • tell A off Aを叱る
  • warn A not to~ Aに〜しないよう警告する
  • nod 頷く
  • tears 涙

It seems that his company can secure jobs and get a constant stream of requests without sales efforts while many other companies in the same field have a hard time because of the recession. I feel this is thanks to the president’s character and his treasure, his son, whose walk on the company’s premise functions as the purification of the company.

  • secure 確保する
  • recession 不景気
  • character 人格
  • purification 浄化

In this world, there seems to be a good balance of happiness. We just cannot be sure which is connected to which because of its complexity. But it is certain that the works of art by God operate unerringly.

  • complexity 複雑さ
  • certain 確かな
  • unerringly 狂わず

生かして頂いて ありがとう御座位ます

I Ka Shi Te I Ta Da I Te  A Ri Ga To U Go Za I Ma Su

Thank you so much for keeping me/us alive.